Main Street & Downtown Development

Main Street Program 

Elgin was selected to be a Texas Main Street City in 1990. The grassroots program focuses on economic development in the context of historic preservation. A volunteer board appointed by the City Council implements the program based on the National Main Street Four Point approach. Since 1990 more than $18 million has been reinvested in the downtown area by the private and public sectors. Since 2015 ten buildings have been restored and 15 new businesses have opened. Four buildings are under renovation and the historic district has 90% occupancy rate. Hundreds of volunteer hours support implementing the Hogeye Festival each year, which is the primary fundraising event for the program. Elgin has been a Certified Community since 1999.

Advisory Board Meetings 

  • 3rd Thursday of each month 
  • 7:30 AM 
  • Location posted on current agenda

Time, date, and location are subject to change, see current agenda to confirm this information. 


Agendas are posted no later than 72 hours prior to a scheduled meeting. 

View Current Agenda

Downtown Development

Downtown Development implements the Main Street Four Point Approach program, manages the Certified Local Government program including historic district ordinance reviews, implements the Film Friendly program, manages the Adopt a Spot program, Safe Routes to School program, Sustainable Agriculture and Sustainable Places Programs, implements the Hogeye Festival, Sip Shop and Stroll, and community events throughout the year, provides regional participation in CAMPO, grant writing, grant administration support and has secured over $4 million in grant funding for the community. Located at the Fleming Community Center, 802 North Avenue C, you can connect with the latest information through @VisitElginTX on social media. 

Contact Us

  1. Amy Miller

    Community Services Director

    Kristina Alvarez

    Main Street Manager

    802 North Avenue C
    Fleming Community Center
    P.O. Box 591
    Elgin, TX 78621

    Phone: 512-229-3227


    Monday - Friday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Staff Directory