News Flash

Elgin News

Posted on: May 22, 2023

Elgin City Council Swearing In Ceremony, Wednesday, May 17, 2023

City Council Swearing In Ceremony

Elgin City Council Swearing-In Ceremony
Wednesday, May 17, 2023 the City of Elgin held a swearing-in ceremony for newly elected City Council Members with Mayor McShan as mistress of ceremony. The ceremony was held on the porch of the Dr. I.B. Nofsinger House which is Elgin City Hall, a Registered Texas Historic Landmark in a historic district that is listed on the National Register of Historic places, and dates to 1906.  Sarah O’Brien administered the oath of office for Council Member Forest Dennis who was reelected to represent Ward 4.  Jennifer Stubbs administered the oath of office for Council Member Matthew Callahan who was unopposed for Ward 3.  Latisha Thorn administered the oath of office for YaLecia Love who was elected to represent Ward 2.    Forest, Matthew and YaLecia will serve terms through May 2025.  Regular City Council meetings are held on first Tuesdays at 6:30pm at the Elgin Public Library Council chambers.  Check out agendas, minutes, city council slides, and recordings of the meetings on YouTube through the city website  
Pictured L-R:  Sarah O’Brien, Jennifer Stubbs, Forest Dennis, Council Member Ward 4, YaLecia Love Council Member Ward 2, Matthew Callahan, Council Member Ward 3, Latisha Thorn, and Mayor Theresa McShan.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Elgin News